Match Centre


The MTN 8 is a South African football cup competition. It is made up of the top eight teams that finished in that order at the close of the ABSA Premiership season. The first round is structured such that the team at the top of the previous season’s table plays the team that finished eighth; second place plays seventh; third plays sixth and fourth plays fifth. The semifinals are played over two legs.

This competition pits the top 8 clubs is one of the longest-standing knockout cup competitions in South Africa, first being contested in 1972. The winner receives R8 million. Amakhosi has gone on to win this competition an impressive 15 times, making it the most successful team in the history of the tournament.

MTN8 Results

Date Time Home Away Stadium
01 Sep 2018 20:15 Kaizer Chiefs 0 - 1 SuperSport United FNB Stadium
26 Aug 2018 15:00 SuperSport United 2 - 2 Kaizer Chiefs Lucas Moripe Stadium
12 Aug 2017 20:15 Kaizer Chiefs 0 - 1 SuperSport United Moses Mabhida Stadium