Bvuma gets first start of the season against TTM

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma will start his first game of the current season and will be deputised by Brylon Petersen as Itumeleng Khune and Daniel Akpeyi are nursing injuries. Bvuma came on as a sub against Celtic and made some great saves after Akpeyi suffered a concussion on Saturday and Khune is recovering from a shoulder injury.

Coach Gavin Hunt has been forced to make two more changes in his defence with Mulomowandau Mathoho ruled out with injury and Daniel Cardoso suspended after collecting four yellow cards. The duo will be replaced by Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Reeve Frosler in the starting line-up.

Bvuma will have Philani Zulu to the left of his defence, Mphahlele and Siyabonga Ngezana in central defence and Frosler on the right of Amakhosi’s defence.

The midfield is unchanged with Njabulo Blom and Bernard Parker manning the centre of the pitch. Saturday’s goalscorer Happy Mashiane will be on the left of the midfield and Baccus will operate on the right.

The attack is also unchanged with Nurković leading the charge, with support from Lebogang Manyama.

Bernard Parker retains the captain’s armband.

Victor Hlungwani is the match’s referee. His first assistant will be Lalelani Mngadi and  Abel Maphutha will be the second assistant referee. Olani Kwinda is the fourth official.

Kick-off for this exciting DStv Premiership encounter between TTM and The Phefeni Glamour Boys is at 17:00 at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.   No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be live on SuperSport Channel 202 on DStv and various SABC Radio stations, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Bvuma (44); Mphahlele (2), Ngezana (30), Frosler (23), Zulu (22), Blom (45), Parker © (25), Baccus (6), Mashiane (19),  Manyama (21); Nurković (9)

Subs:  Petersen (1); Sasman (20), Ntiya-Ntiya (36), Agay (5), Katsande (31), Ngcobo (37), Kambole (7), Zuma (28), Castro (8)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Tshakhuma XI: Arubi (36), Nkili (2); Ndlondlo (20), Thopola (24), Rakhale (30); Nonyane (18), Ravhuhali (19), Timm (6), Ngema (10), Mnyamane (23), Lamola (14)

Subs: Mamudzidi (49); Lukhubeni (32), Nevhulamba (8), Manaka (3), Molangoane (21), Thangwane (22), Madhanaga (31), Rantie (17), Theron (15),

Coach: Dylan Kerr