Chiefs line up against Wydad

Kaizer Chiefs will kick off the first hurdle of their two-legged CAF Champions League semi-final with a strong lineup away from home against Wydad Athletic Club in Morocco this evening. Amakhosi would like nothing more than to get a positive result from the game.

Caretaker Coach Arthur Zwane and Dillon Sheppard will be on the bench with Chiefs making three changes when compared with the team that took on TS Galaxy in the last game of the DStv Premiership on 6 June in Nelspruit.

Chiefs will apply a 3-5-2 formation against Wydad.

Bruce Bvuma retains his position in goal as he plays his 8th game in a row for Chiefs.

Mulomowandau Mathoho, Siyabonga Ngezana and Daniel Cardoso will form the back wall with Reeve Frosler and Yagan Sasman playing as wing-backs.

The midfield will be manned by Willard Katsande, Bernard Parker and Njabulo Blom.

Samir Nurković and Leonardo Castro will lead Amakhosi’s attack.

Bernard Parker will again wear the skipper armband.

Wydad have lined-up their strong side, making only two changes when compared to the team that played Chiefs in the first round of the group stage match played in Burkina Faso in February.

The referee for this evening’s match is Maguette Ndiaye from Senegal. Assistant referees are El Hadji Malick Samba and Nouha Bangoura also from Senegal. Issa Sy is the Fourth Official from Senegal. Amar Bahloul from Algeria is the match Commissioner. Mohamed Benouza is the Referee Assessor also from Algeria. Khaled Lemkecher from Tunisia is the General Coordinator.

There will be VAR technology to assist the referees in the match.

The CAF Champions League semi-final first leg match between Amakhosi and Wydad Casablanca will kick off at 20:00 (21:00 in SA) at Complexe Mohammed V in Morocco’s capital, Casablanca. There will be no spectators allowed in the stadium. The game will be available CAF online platforms, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Bvuma (26); Cardoso (4), Ngezana (30)  Mathoho (3); Sasman ((20), Frosler (23) Blom (12), Katsande (14), Parker © (25), Castro (8), Nurković

Subs:  Akpeyi (1); Zulu (22), Moleko (18), Agay (5), Baccus (6), Matsheke (24), Ngcobo (15), Mashiane (19),  Kambole (7)

Coach: Arthur Zwane

Wydad XI: Tagnaouti (26); El Ami Oud (22), Aboulfati (30),  Dari (3), El Idrissi (14), El Hassouni (20), El Karti © (18), Jabrane (5),  Mohammed (37), Ellafi (28),  El Kaabi (9)

Subs: Siouddi (27); Saidi (4),  Farhane (25), Serrhat (6), Chrachem (32), Ait Allal (31), Msuva (11), Rahim (24), Aouk (17)

Coach: Faouzi Benzarti