Chiefs look strong for their season’s swansong

Kaizer Chiefs have lined up another strong team for their last game of the 2020/21 DStv Premiership season against TS Galaxy this afternoon at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit. The game is very important as Galaxy need at least a draw to hold on to the 8th position while Chiefs need to win to grab the 8th spot and qualify for the MTN8 competition next season.

Caretaker coach Arthur Zwane has decided to make only from the team that beat Golden Arrows on Wednesday at FNB Stadium. The change will see Nkosingiphile Ngcobo who set up two goals in midweek’s clash replace Kearyn Baccus in midfield.

Coach will once again apply a 4-4-2 formation as they try to grab three valuable points in this final game of the season.

After playing in Chiefs’ last game on Wednesday, goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma will be in goal for Chiefs once again for his 7th consecutive appearance.

The defence is unchanged with Reeve Frosler will slotting in at right back. Philani Zulu keeps his place on the left and the central defence duo of Mulomowandau Mathoho and Daniel Cardoso will continue doing the work.

Willard Katsande, Bernard Parker and Lebogang Manyama who scored a hat-trick on Wednesday will be joined by Ngcobo in the middle of the park.

Samir Nurković and Leonardo Castro will launch Amakhosi’s attack.

Bernard Parker will again wear the skipper armband.

The referee is Masixole Bambiso. His first assistant is Kenny Mamegwa, with Xolani Boneni as the second assistant. Thabo Mkhabela will be the match’s fourth official.

The final DStv Premiership match of 2020/21 season between Amakhosi and Galaxy will kick off at 15:00 at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga’s capital, Nelspruit.  There will be no spectators allowed in the stadium. The game will be live on SuperSport Channel 203, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Bvuma (44);  Frosler (39),  Zulu (22), Cardoso (4), Mathoho (3); Katsande (31), Ngcobo (37), Parker © (25), Manyama (21), Castro (8), Nurković

Subs:  Akpeyi (40); Ngezana (30), Agay (5), Sasman ((20), Blom (45), Baccus (6), Radebe (33), Mashiane (19), Kambole (7)

Coach: Arthur Zwane

Galaxy XI:  van der Linde (1); Sanoka © (45), Modisane (24), Mokoena (26),  M. Mahlangu (4),  Nduli (8), Brooks (18), Phohlongo (28), Macuphu (29),  Ndlovu (12), Mbatha (35)

Subs: Heugh (16), Fransman (37), Mbunjana (6),  Aubass (15), S. Mahlangu (27), Nyama (11), Mogaila (7), Lekay (19), Modise (43)

Coach: Owen Da Gama