Chiefs win Maize Cup

Kaizer Chiefs won the Maize Cup thanks to beating Free State Stars 1-0 in the final. George Lebese scored the winner in the 83nd minute.

Amakhosi won the first match at Orkney’s James Motlatsi Stadium 2-0 over Botswana’s Township Rollers thanks to two goals from Gustavo Páez, one of which was from the penalty spot.

Chiefs’ starting line-up against Township Rollers was as follows: Khune (C); Mphahlele, Mathoho, Hadebe, Masilela (Khumalo 89′); Maluleka, Katsande, Ekstein, Jayiya (Malope 72′); Parker (Chirambadare 85′), Páez.

The line-up against Free State Stars was quite different: Khuzwayo; Moleko, Cardoso (C), Gordinho, Zulu; Buchanan, Meyiwa, Molangoane, Twala; Lebese, Shopane