Bvuma gets his chance

Bruce Bvuma has been handed a start in goal as Amakhosi look to win a second match on the trot when we face Maritzburg United at FNB Stadium. Bvuma kept a clean sheet in the Nedbank Cup Round of 16 win over The Magic FC.

In front of Bvuma will be a strong trio made up of Kgotso Moleko in central defence, joined by Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Daniel Cardoso. They will be looking to hand Bruce Bvuma a first league clean sheet in the Gold & Black.

Dumsani Zuma has been rewarded for his Man of the Match performance in the last Absa Premiership against Highlands Park outing with another start tonight.

The attacker will be joined by the other goal scorers from the 3-2 win over Highlands Park in Leonardo Castro and Bernard Parker, who will be wearing the captain’s armband.

A boost for Amakhosi is the return of Khama Billiat to the line-up after missing the Highlands Park match through injury. The single change in midfield sees Hendrick Ekstein miss out entirely while young sensation Nkosingiphile Ngcobo gets an opportunity to start from the bench.

A win for the seventh placed Glamour Boys will see the side move into fifth on the Absa Premiership log.

The match kick offs at 18:00. The referee will be Thando Ndzandzeka, assisted by Luvuyo Pupuma and Emmanuel de Sani.

Kaizer Chiefs’ line-up: Bvuma (44); Mphahlele (2), Moleko (18), Cardoso (4); Ntiya-Ntiya (36), Maluleka (12), Zulu (22), Zuma (28), Billiat (11); Parker, captain (25), Castro (8)

Subs: Akpeyi (40), Katsande (31), Frosler (39), Booysen (5), Ngcobo (37), Moon (7), Ngezana (30)

Head coach: Ernst Middendorp


Maritzburg’s line-up: Ofori (31); Xulu (25), Kunene (36), Allie (4), Sanoka (3); Makaringe (11), Timm (24), Shandu (26), Ndlovu (8); Zakri (44), Mokate (22)

Subs: Mpandle (1), Figareido (17), Matsi (15), Kutumela (20), Kateregga (13), Moseamedi (19), Mekoa (28)

Head coach: Eric Tinkler

Referee:                                  Thando Ndandzeka

1st Assistant:                         Luvuyo Pupuma

2nd Assistant:                      Emmanuel De Sani

4th Official:                           Clifford Thwala

Match commissioner:      Robert Pillay