Chiefs make two changes against Wydad

Kaizer Chiefs get back into action this evening after not being action for two weeks due to the FIFA International break. The Glamour boys were last in action against archrvirals Orlando Pirates two weeks ago in the DStv Premiership and Chiefs won the match 1-0.

This evening’s game is Chiefs 5th encounter in the 2021 CAF Champions League Group Stages as they will be hosting Morrocan club Wydad Atlectic. The two teams met for the first leg in Burkina Faso on 28 February.

Even though Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Kearyn Baccus, Khama Billiat and Leonardo Castro are back from injury, Coach Gavin Hunt has opted to put them on the bench. He has only decided to make two changes by introducing Yagan Sasman and Lebogang Manyama. The two players will replace Mulomowandau Mathoho and Lazalous Kambole, respectively.

The coach has gone for a 4-5-1 formation for this evening’s encounter.

Daniel Akpeyi will start between the sticks for Amakhosi.

In defence, Sasman will be on the left,  Daniel Cardoso and Siyabonga Ngezana are at the centre of defence, while Reeve Frosler on the right of defence.

Njabulo Blom is in midfield with Nkosingiphile Ngcobo.  They will be supported by Happy Mashiane on the left and Bernard Parker on the right.

The attacking midfielder is Manyama. He will support Samir Nurković in attack.

The refereeing team is from the same region as the visiting team in North Africa. They are referee Ibrahim Nour El Din. He will be assisted by Mahmoud Ahmed Kamel Abouelregal and Youssef Wahid Youssef Elbosaty – all from Egypt.

The fourth official is Mahmoud Elbana, who is also from Egypt

Baba Mohaeso Malephane from the Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho will be the match commissioner and General Cooridinator of the match

The Glamour Boys and Wydad Cassablanca will kick off at 18:00 at FNB Stadium. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be live online and on the SABC DTT channel. There will be regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Akpeyi (1); Frosler (23), Ngezana (30), Cardoso (4), Sasman (20),  Mashiane (19),  Blom (12), Ngcobo (15), Parker (25), Manyama (21); Nurković (9)

Subs:  Khune (16); Mphahlele (2), Baccus (6), Katsande (14); Khama (11), Kambole (7), Castro (8)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Wydad XI: Sioudi (27), Rehin (24), Comara Cheick (29), Farhane (25), Babatunde (10), El Moudane (19), Ait Allal (31, Aouk (17), Gaddarine (8), Serrhat (6), El Moutaraji

Subs: Henin (1), Asrir 16), Karkache (21), Zakarie (23), Mounsef (32), Abderrahin (33), Bilal (34)

Coach: Benchrifa Mohamed (asst coach)