Chiefs miss out on Nedbank Cup

18 May 2019

Kaizer Chiefs                           0

TS Galaxy                            (0) 1 (Lepasa, penalty 93’)

Kaizer Chiefs went down 1-0 to TS Galaxy in injury time through a penalty at Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday night. As a result, Amakhosi missed out on the Nedbank Cup trophy.

Coach Ernst Middendorp decided to go with three attackers – Lebogang Manyama, Kabelo Mahlasela and Khama Billiat. All speedy players who could put early pressure on the Galaxy defence.

And that’s what happened. Chiefs started aggressively, trying to harass the opponent deep into their own half. This was done to take care that Galaxy couldn’t build up from the back, which they like to do.

The positive attitude didn’t result in many early goalscoring opportunities though. Soon, however, Galaxy found gaps as not all Chiefs players managed to keep up with the pressing high on the pitch.

As a result, the first division side was able to get into Amakhosi’s box a few times, although this didn’t result in any real chances. In fact, Galaxy managed to have only one goalscoring attempt in the first half.

That’s because Chiefs’ defence kept it tight, with Kgotso Moleko, Daniel Cardoso and Teenage Hadebe all doing well.

Dax Andrianarimanana worked hard in midfield, winning several balls. Bernard Parker had a good start on the right wing, while Kabelo Mahlasela showed flashes of brilliance going easily past his opponents.

Hadebe nearly scored the opening goal in in the 43rd minute from a set-piece, but the ball was headed over the crossbar.

There was a vibrant atmosphere at the sold-out Moses Mabhida Stadium with most of the spectators proudly wearing their Gold and Black jersey.

Another chance came the way of Parker on the brink of half-time, but ‘Die Hond’ couldn’t slot home from close range, with the ball being blocked from going in goal by a Galaxy defender.

The half-time score was goalless, despite Chiefs being the dominant team.

Coach Middendorp decided to bring on George Maluleka for Andrianarimanana at the start of the second half to become even more attacking.

Amakhosi looked to score after about two minutes of play, but both Mahlasela and Manyama couldn’t get the ball into the back of the net.

There was another chance for Mahlasela barely a minute later, but the ball was shot straight at the goalkeeper.

It showed, however, that the Glamour Boys came out of the dressing room with the intent to get an early goal.

Billiat had a rather quiet first half, but the Zimbabwean did come alive in the second half, making some excellent runs.

Maluleka did well after coming on, giving the midfield a bit more energy and urgency to go forward.

The Amakhosi mentor made another change in the 70th minute, bringing on Dumsani Zuma for Manyama, who had made his first start since January and had run by that time slightly out of steam.

Chiefs continued to be the better side. There was a great chance for Willard Katsande in the 83rd minute, but he couldn’t quite connect with the bouncing ball, hitting it over the crossbar.

A major set-back in injury time occurred, when Galaxy were awarded a penalty. The referee decided that Moleko and Hadebe had sandwiched Zakhele Lepasa in the box. Lepasa himself slotted the ball home from the spot, 0-1.

Chiefs fought hard to get the equaliser in the dying minutes of the encounter, but it wasn’t to be. Amakhosi lost out in a final that they completely dominated. It shows that the scoreboard is not always a true reflection of the game.

Key moment in the match:

That must be the moment when Galaxy were awarded a penalty towards the end of the game. The goal was completely against the run of play.

Most Valuable Player (MVP):

A few players of Kaizer Chiefs did well, including Teenage Hadebe, Bernard Parker and Kabelo Mahlasela. George Maluleka delivered a fine performance after coming on at the start of the second half.

What it means:

It means that Kaizer Chiefs didn’t win the Nedbank Cup, which is a major disappointment after having come so close.

Kaizer Chiefs 11: Bvuma; Moleko, Cardoso, Hadebe (Castro 92’); Parker, Katsande, Andrianarimanana (Maluleka 46’), Ntiya-Ntiya; Manyama (Zuma 70’), Mahlasela, Billiat

Subs not used: Petersen, Mphahlele, Zulu, Frosler

TS Galaxy 11: Mpakumpaku; Bodibe, Aubaas, Dube, Mashego; Nyama (Phungwayo 70’), Ndlovu, Mdlinzo, Mbamba (Ngidi 37’); Nduli, Chaine (Lepasa 62’)

Subs not used: Myataza, Shangase, Abrahams, Ndlovu

Next Match:

The 2018/2019 PSL season is finished.