First starts for Zulu, Meyiwa and Jayiya

Coach Steve Komphela had to change his first XI in numerous ways compared to the last league fixture against SuperSport United, due to several injuries and a suspension. For example, Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Tsepo Masilela are injured, while Erick Mathoho is suspended for two matches, because of the red-card he received against SuperSport United.

The coach has furthermore decided to field the team in a 3-5-2 formation with Lorenzo Gordinho, Willard Katsande and Daniel Cardoso manning the three centre-back positions.

It means that the young talented 17-year-old Wiseman Meyiwa will get his first start for Amakhosi, coming in as the defensive midfielder. Kgotso Moleko and Philani Zulu will come in on the wing. It will also be Zulu’s first start wearing the Gold & Black jersey.

Another who will make his official debut is Bongolethu Jayiya, who joined Chiefs from Cape Town City at the beginning of the season.

Bernard Parker, meanwhile, who started the first three official matches this season in the starting line-up, will be on the bench tonight.

Chiefs face Cape Town City on the road tonight at the Cape Town Stadium (kick-off at 19:30).

The clash will be refereed by Victor Hlungwani.

Chiefs’ line up: Khune, captain (32); Gordinho (26), Katsande (31), Cardoso (4); Moleko (18), Maluleka (12), Meyiwa (38), Jayiya (6), Zulu (22); Tshabalala (14), Páez (9)

Subs: Khuzwayo (16), Buchanan (10), Molangoane (23), Parker (25), Twala (7), Chirambadare (11), Ekstein (27)

Head Coach: Steve Komphela

City’s line-up: Stephens (32); Kobola (4), Gumede (27), Johannes, captain (16), Dove (5); Patosi (10), Matsi (23), Nodada (26), Lakay (7); Modise (13), Majoro (45)

Subs: Walters (1), Fielies (12), Mkhize (2), Seedat (6), Masina (24), Moseamedi (20), Koapeng (9)

Coach: Benni McCarthy

Referee:                                  Victor Hlungwani
1st Assistant:                        Zakhele Siwela

2nd Assistant:                      Clifford Motaung

4th Official:                           Joshua van Rensburg
Match Commissioner:       Asref Parker