Hunt’s first Chiefs starting XI

Kaizer Chiefs will host Maritzburg United in an MTN8 quarterfinal fixture at FNB this afternoon. It will be Gavin Hunt’s first game in charge of the Glamour Boys.

The new coach has had some setbacks ahead of the MTN8 game as a few players are not available for selection – Willard Katsande and Lebogang Manyama are suspended, while Samir Nurković, Dumsani Zuma and Mulomowandau Mathoho are still recovering from a variety of injuries.

Hunt has decided to go with Itumeleng Khune in goal and with Reeve Frosler, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso and Yagan Sasman forming the backline.

Mphahlele will be used as a centre-back, partnering Cardoso in the centre of defence. Khune will be the captain.

Anthony Agay Akumu will replace Katsande in the holding role, getting assistance in the middle by Nkosingiphile Ngcobo. Kearyn Baccus and Bernard Parker complete the midfield.

Up-front will be Khama Billiat and Lazalous Kambole.

Leonardo Castro recovered just in time from his hamstring injury, but he will begin the match on the bench due to a lack of match fitness.

The referee is Luxolo Badi, while his assistants are Shaun Olive and Khamusi Razwimisani and Tshepo Nojila. Oscar Tsotetsi will be the fourth official.

The match between Chiefs and Maritzburg will kick-off at 15:00.

No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be broadcast live on the DStv channel SuperSport 2 and SABC 1, with commentary coming through the Twitter handle, @KaizerChiefs and various SABC radio stations.


Chiefs XI: Khune © (32); Frosler (19), Mphahlele (2), Cardoso (4), Sasman (20); Baccus (6), Agay (5), Ngcobo (37), Parker (25); Billiat (11), Kambole (7)

Subs: Bvuma (44), Moleko (18), Zulu (22), Mashiane (19), Blom (45), Sifama (46), Lesako (47), Ngezana (30), Castro (18)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Maritzburg United: Mpandle (30), Sanoka (3), Allie © (4), De Reuck (23), Morgan (5); Hlongwane (21), Buchanan (8), Bonga Mbourou (14), Classen (17); Kutumela (7), Moseamedi (20)

Subs: Barr (27), Ismail (25), Hlubi (28), Shandu (26), Modise (12), Bhengu (24)

Coach: Eric Tinkler