Missed chances cost Chiefs Reserves in Derby

Kaizer Chiefs Reserves were left to rue missed chances in a 0-1 loss to their archrivals Orlando Pirates Reserves. It was as expected a nail-biting affair with the two rivals going at each other in an ‘It’s Massive’ festival match which took place at the Dobsonville Stadium on Saturday.

Chiefs Reserves were in total control of the proceedings at half time showing no less than six attempts on goal with three of those being shots on target. Ball possession also showed Chiefs’ dominance especially in the first half at 52%.

Chiefs Reserves dictated terms with Njabulo Blom showing maturity in the midfield. Blom was flanked by Nkosingiphile Ngcobo who played for 90 minutes for the first time since returning from long term injury with the first team coach Ernst Middendorp watching on.

Second half was a more of a cagey affair. Chiefs Reserves put the foot off the paddle allowing Pirates Reserves to come back into the game. Chiefs still were still in control with 53% ball possession and a whopping fourteen goal attempts. All it took was a goal against the run of play and Bontle Molefe’s tip was not enough to save the 85th minute header by Simiso Bophelo, which gave the Sea Robbers a 1-0 lead.

Stand in coach Shaun Bartlett made changes to bolster his attack – Tshepo Mohlala came on for Yaseen Bunting at half time. With the clock ticking, Bartlett called off Lebo Khwinana and with Sabelo Radebe receiving SOS, Amakhosi going for broke looking for a win.

One of the positives was seeing Darrel Matsheke being rewarded for total control at centre-back for the Chiefs Reserves. His hard work earned him the Man of the Match tag.

Chiefs are still on nineteen points and dropping a notch to 8th spot on the MDC Log standings.

Line up:

Bontle Molefe (GK); Darrel Matsheke, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Kefiloe Mojaki, Tshepo Myeni, Lebohang Lesako, Njabulo Blom © , Keletso Sifama, Khumbulani Ncube, Yaseen Bunting (Tshepo Mohlala 46’), Wandy Khwinana (Sabelo Radebe 62’)

Other subs: Bohlale Hleza (GK), DÁngelo Taai, Jordan Sampson