Njabulo Ngcobo, Petersen debut for Chiefs

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Brandon Petersen and defender Njabulo Ngcobo will make their debut for Amakhosi this evening when they come up against newcomers to the PSL, Royal AM in a DStv Premiership match at FNB Stadium.

This is the first meeting between the two sides after Royal AM acquired Bloemfontein Celtic’s PSL status just before the start of the campaign.

Chiefs lost their previous league game against defending champions Sundowns and Royal AM beat Chippa United 1-0.

Coach Stuart Baxter has decided to make two changes to the team that faced Sundowns on Sunday by bringing Petersen in and benching Bruce Bvuma. The second change will see last season’s defender of the season, Njabulo Ngcobo replace Austin Dube at the back.

Chiefs will adopt a 4-2-3-1 formation for today’s game.

Peterson will be in goal for the first time in an official match for the Phefeni Glamour Boys.

At the back, Baxter has opted for Sifiso Hlanti, Njabulo Ngcobo, Mulomowandau Mathoho and Daniel Cardoso,

Cole Alexander and Njabulo Blom are in the middle of the park. They will be supported by Phathutshedzo Nange who will operate behind the striker, Khama Billiat on the left-wing and Keagan Dolly on the right-wing.

Samir Nurković will be the main striker.

On the bench, Kearyn Baccus will replace the injured Bernard Parker.

Mathoho will wear the armband once again.

The officiating will be led by referee Tshidiso Maruping. His two assistants are Sibusiso Sisilana and Cledwin Baloyi. The fourth official is Joseph Makhubo.

Amakhosi’s DStv Premiership second home game of the season against Royal AM will kick off at 17:00 at FNB Stadium in Tshwane. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be shown live on SuperSport’s PSL Channel 202 on DStv and carried by various SABC Radio stations, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Hlanti (23), Mathoho (3), Cardoso (4), Nj Ngcobo (27), Blom (45), Alexander (17), Nange (24), Dolly (10), Billiat (11), Nurković (9)

Subs:  Bvuma (16); Frosler (39), Mabiliso (26), Dube (29), Agay (5), Nk Ngcobo (12), Sekgota (14), Baccus (6), Manyama (21)

Coach: Stuart Baxter

Royal: Nyame (16), Mkhize (20), Rikhotso (22), Lingwati (24), Monamodi (30), Mashikinya (18),  Manganyi (13), Potsane (11), Mahlasela (12), Mashiane (38),  Letsoalo (21)

Subs: Chaine (31); Masuku (50), Thikazi (34), Mabuza (28), Sera (9), van der Ross (29), George (45), Mdluli (46),  Phalane (8)

Coach: John Maduka