Chiefs have the edge – MTN8 QF

Defending MTN8 champions Kaizer Chiefs will face Maritzburg United in the quarterfinals of the 2015 competition. Chiefs boast 15 Top 8 titles since the inception of the competition in 1972. Under MTN as the competition sponsor Chiefs were the last man standing on two occasions, in 2008 and 2014.

The match will be played at the FNB Stadium in Soweto on Wednesday, 5 August 2015, kick-off at 19h30.

In 2014, Chiefs were rampant in the quarterfinals sending their opponents packing with an avalanche, first to be on the receiving end was Black Aces 4 – 0, before Platinum Stars hoodoo was broken with a 5 – 0 drubbing. The two convincing wins were toasted with a 1 – 0 win over archrivals Orlando Pirates in the finals.

The win would be what the doctor ordered to set the tone for Chiefs to live to their 2014/15 theme to Inspire Greatness by clinching the Absa Premiership and MTN 8 Cup double.

Ironically, coach Steve Komphela guided Maritzburg United in the top half of the table for the first time in their history.

After taking his side through the pre-match training on Tuesday, Komphela previews, “We have a plan well worked out for the match. The message is clear, and I reminded the guys that this trophy is ours and we have to go out there and defend it.”

“We will monitor the players overnight. It is not easy at the start of the season to ascertain the fitness of the players. But, those that will be included in the team, will do the job for us. We are ready and looking forward,” adds Komphela.

In head-to-head stats, Chiefs and Maritzburg have met in just two previous cup matches. The first was in the first round of the 2005/06 Coca-Cola Cup and the Soweto side claimed a 2-1 home win. The second was in the first round of last season’s Telkom Knockout and again the Amakhosi came out on top, claiming a 1-0 win thanks to Bernard Parker’s early strike.

2015/16 Wafa Wafa Prize Money

1st Prize R8mil and 2nd to 8th Prize is R800k

Tickets are sold at Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers outlets nationwide. R40 for adults and R80 for the west stands. Children pay R10 to enter.