Moon selected for Bafana’s CHAN squad

Ryan Moon has been selected by South Africa’s national team head coach Stuart Baxter for the 23-man squad to face Botswana in the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers.

It’s first time that the young Kaizer Chiefs striker has been called-up for the South African national side.

Bafana Bafana will meet the Zebras in the first leg on Saturday, 15 July 2017 at the Francistown Stadium in Botswana (kick-off is at 15:30).

The second leg will take place a week later at Rustenburg’s Moruleng Stadium on Saturday, 22 July (kick-off is at 15:00).

The winner will face the victor of the clash between Swaziland and Zambia. Whoever wins that match will qualify for CHAN, which will take place in Kenya from 11 January to 2 February 2018.

A total of 16 teams will qualify to play in the final tournament, including Kenya that automatically qualifies as hosts.

Only national team players who are playing in their country’s own domestic league are eligible to compete in the CHAN tournament.

NO.     PLAYER’S NAME                CLUB
1.         Boalefa PULE                         Supersport United FC
2.         Steven HOFFMAN                Platinum Stars FC
3.         Khulekani KUBHEKA          Mamelodi Sundowns FC
4.         Siyabonga NHLAPO              Bidvest Wits FC
5.         Malebogo MODISE               Mamelodi Sundowns FC
6.         Siphiwe MNGUNI                 Platinum Stars FC
7.         Junaid SAIT                            Stellenbosch FC
8.         Sandile MTHETHWA           Orlando Pirates FC
9.         Mothobi MVALA                   Highlands Park FC
10.       Mario BOOYSEN                   Supersport United FC
11.       Tercious MALEPE                  Orlando Pirates FC
12.       Cole ALEXANDER                Supersport United FC
13.       Lehlogonolo MASALESA     UNATTACHED
14.       Riyaad NORODIEN              Orlando Pirates FC
15.       Jamie WEBBER                     Stellenbosch FC
16.       Sphelele NTSHANGASE      Black Leopards FC
17.       Dumisani ZUMA                    Bloemfontein Celtic FC
18.       Ricardo LOURENCO            Orlando Pirates FC
19.       Teboho MOKOENA              Supersport United FC
20.       Sipho MBULE                        Mamelodi Sundowns FC
21.       Bongani NTULI                     Mamelodi Sundowns FC
22.      Ryan MOON                      Kaizer Chiefs FC
23.       Gift MOTUPA                        Baroka FC